Mayor Dave for Mayor Blog


Some New Endorsements and a Recap of the PD Forum by Mayor Dave
February 8, 2007, 4:38 pm
Filed under: written by Mayor Dave

I’m happy to report that in the last 24 hours we’ve picked up several new endorsements. Democracy for Wisconsin, a group of progressive Democratic Party activists – many of whom came together around Howard Dean‘s presidential campaign – voted to endorse me at their meeting last night.

The Sierra Club has also endorsed my candidacy. The Sierra Club named Madison a “Cool City” last year citing my efforts to reduce global climate change through our Green Capitol City initiative (pdf).

These are in addition to the endorsements I’ve already received from many labor unions including AFSCME, the South Central Wisconsin Federation of Labor, the United Brotherhood of Electrical Workers and the Operating Engineers, and from the Dane County Democratic Party and the College Democrats of Madison.

Last night we had our first full blown mayoral debate. It was sponsored by Progressive Dane and held at the Warner Park Community Center. The forum was very thoughtfully organized with a mix of serious questions and some “lightening round” questions to help keep things light and interesting. For example I was asked about my favorite coffee shop – Michelangelo’s.

On the serious side, I was struck by one of my opponents who went off on my work to protect more then 250 acres of land associated with the Cherokee Marsh, only minutes away from where the forum was held. This is the largest city conservation purchase in three decades or more, but my opponent called the Marsh “swampland.” Actually, this conservation purchase was two years in the making, and it is the result of the dedicated work of my office, city staff, the Friends of Cherokee Marsh and the developer, who, to his credit, agreed to work with us on this project. It’s another example of how we’ve made progress by bringing people together. My opponent might have figured that out had he taken the time to research it, but I guess he was swamped.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

