Mayor Dave for Mayor Blog


Saturday on the Campaign Trail by Mayor Dave
February 11, 2007, 3:00 pm
Filed under: written by Mayor Dave

Saturday was a good day on the old campaign trail. I spoke at a packed meeting of neighbors at the Elvehjem Neighborhood Association meeting on the East Side, then I knocked on doors in the neighborhoods around Olbrich Park, stopped in at Kipp’s Home Cooking in the shadow of Camp Randall Stadium for a bowl of hot Texas chili, visited with more voters on Yuma Drive on the West Side and ended the day at the annual “Blue Cheese” party at the home of a friend on Dickinson Street.

The highlight of my day was a conversation I had with a retired Madison firefighter and his wife at their kitchen table after they took pity on me and invited me in from the cold. We spent a very pleasant time talking about all kinds of city issues.

Sometimes people tell me they can’t believe how long the days are during the campaign, but I don’t look at it that way. I’m having a great time and the truth is that an average Saturday as Mayor isn’t all that different from yesterday’s activities. Staying in touch means getting around and listening to people and when that comes with a hot bowl of chili, so much the better.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

