Mayor Dave for Mayor Blog


Some Smoke-free Gatherings around Madison by Mayor Dave
February 13, 2007, 1:30 pm
Filed under: written by Mayor Dave

Last night, we had a well-attended event at the home of Maureen and Steve Busalacchi. Maureen is an advocate for smoke-free work places, and we had a lot of support there from the smoke-free and health care communities.

I’m especially proud of our record on smoking. Our smoke-free ordinance went into effect a year and a half ago, and we know that bartenders, musicians and patrons are not being exposed to the many dangers of secondhand smoke. We also know that the industry is stronger than ever.

In fact, last weekend I got a chance to introduce The Gomers at their tenth anniversary show at the High Noon Saloon. The place was packed with people of all ages, including some young parents there for “Gomeroke” who told me they’d never be there if the smoking ban hadn’t passed. But now they got a chance to sing with the band, and they didn’t have to breath secondhand smoke to have such a terrific experience. (I “sang” with Peter Leidy and full back up from The Gomers myself, and it was a great experience for me, if not for the audience.)

Now, Governor Jim Doyle has said he’ll take our ordinance statewide, and that’s a good thing. But if the Legislature tries to weaken the Governor’s proposal and go backwards on Madison’s ordinance, I’ll fight it as hard as I can. My opponents have been opposed to the smoking ban in the past, and it’s a safe assumption that they would not fight an effort to weaken it. The difference between my opponents and me on this issue is as clear as the air in Madison bars.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If people are too lethargic to step outside the bar and smoke, then they’re probably too lazy to vote. Props on the smoking ban Mayor Dave. Lord knows you probably get enough crap about it.

Comment by Johnathon

Thanks for your leadership on smoke-free Mayor Dave. Madison’s smoke-free ordinance has improved the health of bartenders across the city and enhanced the going-out experiences of families and non-smokers like me. Even my smoker friends agree it was a good move!

Comment by Liz Sanger

Thanks so much for making Madison smoke-free. Because of you, my first drink on my 21st birthday took place in a smoke-free bar on State St. Keep up the great work on keeping Madison a clean and progressive city!

Comment by Becky




Leave a Reply

